Re: making changes in address bar


Mike B.
 

Hi Judy,
 
Take a look at the following 2 methods.
 
From: Barbara Sheinbein
Well this is very ironic.  I have had the same issue.  I finally got tired of hearing it.  I contacted Google via Be My Eyes.  It took a bit of time, but
we did get it fixed.
 
If you use Brian's method, it will stop the message for all web sites.  This may or may not be what you want especially if you land on a new web site and
want to configure it differently.
 
To get rid of this message for the current web site, do the following.
 
You can get to your site settings by selecting "view site information" located in the address bar right before the site address. To do this press alt-d
to go to the address bar.  Next shift tab once.  Press enter.  Then follow the steps below:
 
Tab down and select site settings
This will take you to site permissions
Tab down to location
We changed your settings from "allow" to "block"
To go back to the previous setting select "allow" (if you change your mind)
 
When done press control-F4 to close the settings window.
 Barbara
 
From: Brian Vogel
If you want to forbid ANY site from asking for (or accessing your location):
1. Open Chrome Settings.
2. Navigate to the Privacy and Security Settings
3. In those settings, navigate to Site Settings and open.
4. In Site Settings, Permissions Section, the first option is Location, navigate to it and open it.
5. The default radio button, Sites can ask for your location, will be selected.  Go to the next associated radio button, Don't allow sites to see your
location, and activate it.
6. Optional, beneath that radio button is the Customized Behaviors section, there are two subsections, Not allowed to see your location and Allowed to
see your location each of which will contain a list of sites you've previously denied or allowed location access for.  You can selectively delete these
if desired.
 
Google isn't what's accessing your location, per se, in the instances under discussion here, but the websites you're browsing.  Google is keeping records
regarding which you wish to allow or disallow that access for.  If you turn off Google's ability to ask permission then, effectively, all websites other
than those you may have already allowed will be disallowed going forward, as you are telling Chrome not to ask you on behalf or sites if they can access
your location - which means they can't, and you won't be asked if they can.
Brian
 
 
 
Stay safe and take care.  Mike.  Sent from my iBarstool.

----- Original Message -----
From: Judy
Sent: Saturday, May 14, 2022 1:27 PM
Subject: making changes in address bar

Hi, all, I know this has been brought up before, where in google chrome you get it saying for some websites that this site can access your location. I’ve ignored it, but now it’s finally getting to me. I know to go to alt D to bring it up, but I’m not quite sure what to do from there. Can someone post this again please. Thanks in advance.  Judy & Libby

Join main@jfw.groups.io to automatically receive all group messages.