moderated Re: Question about JAWS at job interviews

Ekstrand, Pamela A. -ND

Hi Mike,

I had a few programmer/analyst jobs before becoming a DBA. My first DBA job was at a place where I had been a programmer, so they already knew me. I have been a DBA now for more years than I care to count. Generally, I feel more comfortable telling the interviewer up front that I am blind, but I have done it both ways. During phone interviews, I have found that it is not always easy to work that into the conversation.

I have been working remotely in my current job for over 15 years now, and many people I work with have come to know that I am blind, but I haven't made a point of saying it unless I feel there is
A need for someone to know.

I guess the bottom line for me is that what I do depends on the situation. I have worked for some wonderful people, and I have also been interviewed by some that I knew wouldn't hire me as soon as the interview started.

The biggest thing that helped me once I had some experience was providing references of people who I had previously worked with.

Pam

-----Original Message-----
From: main@jfw.groups.io <main@jfw.groups.io> On Behalf Of Michael Walker via groups.io
Sent: Monday, June 28, 2021 8:52 PM
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: Re: Question about JAWS at job interviews

Hi Pam,

This is very helpful. How did your employer for the database administrator position react, when you told them you were blind? How do you know when you should disclose your blindness? What other jobs did you have before that position?

Thank you,
Mike

On Jun 28, 2021, at 7:15 PM, Ekstrand, Pamela A. -ND <pamela.a.ekstrand.-nd@disney.com> wrote:

Mike,