moderated Re: What's your thought on using Grammarly with Jaws

Leo

hmm too bad indeed!  I got some years late.

Best,
   Leo
On 3/31/2020 6:10 PM, Shirley Tracy wrote:

I’m a writer, but a few years ago I used Grammarly to help me edit a book I was writing. I had no trouble using the program back then. Now, several years later, I recommended it to a friend who uses JAWS, and she told me it was not very accessible. I got on the site just to see, and I hardly recognized the program. Not JAWS friendly and not blind friendly at all from what I can tell. Too bad.

Shirley Tracy

Sent: Tuesday, March 31, 2020 6:39 PM
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: Re: What's your thought on using Grammarly with Jaws

Well, now that I've tried the extension for Microsoft word, I can tell from my own experience that it's

not accessible, well, really to be more accurate, it's accesible to some degree, which isn't much, but the navigation through the grammarly pain is too clumsy. I had to use touch cursor, which seems the only way to get through the pain, but still I found some unlabeled buttons. I requested sighted assistance to see if there was some kind of marker on the words or structures in which grammarly purportedly singled out as mistaken, and apparently, those words were underlined, but jaws 2020 didn't report any.