moderated Re: clarification on setting place markers on websites

David Griffith

As I understand it placemarkers are browser specific so yes you have to add placemarkers  for each browser you use.

I think placemarkers on a page are disturbed if there is dynamic content on a page – have you tried checking the option “Anchor to text”.

David Griffith

From: main@jfw.groups.io <main@jfw.groups.io> On Behalf Of Van Lant, Robin via Groups.Io
Sent: 21 November 2019 17:47
To: JFW List (jfw@groups.io) <jfw@groups.io>
Subject: clarification on setting place markers on websites

Using JAWS 2019.  Like many of you, I jump between a couple different browsers depending on what I’m doing.  Here at work, I have a couple internal company sites that are cluttered, so I’m setting place markers to get to pertinent parts of the screen.   I’d like to clarify my understanding, since I’m still new to doing this with JAWS. 

For one page, I added a place marker at a line of text above a bunch of buttons I use.  I think I set this PlaceMarkers while using IE 11.  If I open the page in Chrome and hit K, it takes me to a different spot on the page.   In the second case, I set a place marker  at the top of the main section of a page where the company posts news stories.  The K key works as expected in IE 11, but JAWS says there are no place markers when I open the page in Chrome. 

Questions:

Are place markers specific to the browser or to the URL?  In other words, should I be able to set a place marker and have it work on any browser I open the page in?