moderated Re: New computer specs

Tyler Wood

There is also Intel optane memory, which I have no experience with, but is supposed to bring ssd-like performance to mechanical drives over time by writing important files, such as boot files and often used programs, to said memory.
You can also get laptops with ssd's and mechanical drives in one, though they often times are bulkier and heavier, but sometimes that can be far from a bad thing especially if this is your primary machine. A beefier chassis usually equals better cooling and better heat dissipation, too, which usually means more longevity in the long run, since heat is the killer of most things in a computer.

-----Original Message-----
From: main@jfw.groups.io <main@jfw.groups.io> On Behalf Of James Homuth
Sent: August 25, 2019 2:19 PM
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: Re: New computer specs

That depends on your use case. If your laptop's going to be your primary machine, an SSD probably isn't the way to go unless you can pair it with a mechanical drive for storage. In my case, for instance, I'd outgrow the SSD's in most of the laptops in the price range I'm looking at in about a month just by virtue of the fact I only have one machine, and it comes with me to and from work. I can still get a 1 TB mechanical and not break the bank, and make up for the performance hickups in other ways--slightly faster processor, or more RAM, for example. SSD is great and all, but their prices still need to come way, way down.

From: main@jfw.groups.io <main@jfw.groups.io> On Behalf Of Tyler Wood
Sent: August-25-19 3:19 PM

Hello,
The i9 is, in fact, not a typo, and is far ahead of its time. In a laptop cooling just isn't enough. In desktops not so much - but in the laptop form factor it is a 45 wat chip that has 8 cores and 16 threads. Intel is getting far too big for its britches since most Windows applications that we use on a daily basis are not optimized for multi core usage apart from video or audio editing.