Re: Question On Outlook Message Deletion
toggle quoted messageShow quoted text
I’ll continue to work on the issue and will likely end up calling Microsoft Accessibility Support.
From: email@example.com <firstname.lastname@example.org> On Behalf Of Van Lant, Robin via Groups.Io
Sent: Tuesday, May 7, 2019 2:52 PM
Subject: Re: Question On Outlook Message Deletion
You can specify conversation mode by folder. For example, I have all my JAWS list emails come into one folder which is set to conversation mode so that I can more quickly sift through topics I am interested in. If I am in my inbox, the view ribbon shows conversation mode as unchecked. If I am in my JAWS folder, the view ribbon shows conversation mode as checked. Even in my JAWS folder, I do not get the same experience that Sieghard mentioned; if I send n email to the JAWS list, such as this one, I will see it come through on the list, but I do not see the copy that went into my sent mail.
I really do think you’ll have to have Microsoft look at what is going on if you continue to have this problem. I’ve used Outlook for years and just not seen what you are experiencing.
You’re right. … I absolutely don’t want my messages in conversational view, and it seems that conversational view does not happen in my inbox. In other words, I can delete individual messages from the inbox with no problem.
In fact, as I just replied, “show as conversations” is un-checked, which is the way I want things to be.
This is why I don’t understand why carbon copies of my messages in my inbox also get deleted from my sent file when I delete them from the inbox.
This has just started to happen relatively recently, so something in Outlook has changed.
Hi, Tom. Have you considered not having your messages grouped into conversations at all? This is the way I use Outlook, and I never have messages deleted unintentionally due to complete conversations being deleted.
This does not seem to work for me here.
I’m using Outlook 2016 in Office 365, Windows 10 version 1809, and the latest build of Jaws 2019.
Can you give me step-by-step directions for configuring Outlook to delete individual messages, rather than the entire conversation?
Once again, my problem is that when I delete my copy of a message I sent from the inbox, it gets deleted from my sent file as well.
As soon as you reply to a message it should be treated as a conversation and of course the same applies if the other person sends another reply or message. If I reply to a message and then right arrow I can then up arrow and even though I am in the Inbox I then see the message I sent which is located in the Sent Items folder.
I think you are correct here.
My question is when and how do I use the right arrow key to expand the conversation?
I haven’t been able to find this option, at least so far.
I think what is happening here is that when you delete the message which you sent to yourself you are basically deleting the conversation and the conversation includes the message in your Sent Items folder.
Next time try to press the right arrow first to expand the conversation and then only delete the message you received and see if the sent message remains in the Sent Items folder.
Occasionally, I will copy myself on an Outlook e-mail message, because the message is very important, and I want to be sure it has been sent.
Recently, I have noticed that if I delete the received message copy from my inbox, it is also deleted from my sent file.
Is there a way I can configure Outlook so that the message remains in my sent file, even though it has been deleted from my inbox?
I’m using the Office 365 version of Outlook 2016 with Windows 10 and the latest build of Jaws 2019.
Dr. Tom Behler from Michigan