Re: Ripping a CD

Elaine Young <hidden_spring@...>

Randy,

Okay, I've done that and changed to MP3 Thanks.

Now....please explain audio quality. You said "33% is 192kbs. 66% is 256Kbs. and 100% is 320kbs."  Is the average quality 50%?  Does the different levels use more space or memory or whatever you call it.  :(

I noticed my default was at 0%. That seemed odd to me but what do I know?!

I am a real novice here.

Thank you!!

-Elaine

On 10/16/2017 10:11 PM, Randy Barnett wrote:

Hi, glad you are figureing it out.
In the player press alt + t then O.
Now ctrl + tab to the rip tab.
Now tab to the format combo box and arrow down to mp3.
tab until you get to audio quality. This is a slider that justs gives percentage. 33% is 192kbs. 66% is 256Kbs. and 100% is 320kbs.
select one.
Now tab to OK and press enter.
You might want to convert the old .wma files as they are not very well supported.
This is done with a different program. It may be easier to just re-rip them after you change to mp3.
On 10/16/2017 4:44 PM, Elaine Young wrote:

Hi,

Well, Randy, I kind of have it figured out. I get glimpses of light, then get lost in the fog.

The first CD I ripped was a non-commercial one which is why it came up as unknown artist. Then I tried a second one and that one did exactly as you all said- listed the title, artist and minutes.  But..... I was unable to copy and paste it to a thumb drive.

Also I have to work a bit to understand what format it is- I am guessing it is not MP3. Thus I have to find my way to how to change that.....

-Elaine

On 10/16/2017 7:32 PM, Randy Barnett wrote:
Hi, did you get this figured out?
Brian: Yeah, like you said though it automaticly pops up with the artist info so I think even a beginner would just press next to accept the first option.