Re: Office 2016

Tim Ford

Hi Diane,

What I am suggesting is that your office would function just fine with you on an older version of Office; the file systems are completely compatible.  I would approach your technology folks, since they would be the ones who would need to say this was okay.  I am sure they will, unless there is some issue I am not familiar with.  I would sure ask.  If they approve it, your office will save the cost of an upgrade license.  If you want to chat about this off-list, my email is ttford@....  I have some background in the issues you are facing, and it is often just something that was not thought of when your office decided to upgrade.

Windows 10 and JAWS 18 will to be a problem with Office 2010 or 2013.

So before you spend a lot of time learning how to use 2016 with JAWS, why not just ask?  I suspect they will be fine and simply never thought to check with you.  For sighted folks, the differences are not as much of an issue since the visual layout is supposed to be somewhat intuitive.  So they do not realize just how much extra effort you will spend, and probably for no benefit at all, other than being able to say you can operate 2016.  That may be a goal in itself, but if not, consider the above.

Tim Ford

From: main@jfw.groups.io [mailto:main@jfw.groups.io] On Behalf Of D
Sent: Wednesday, August 30, 2017 1:58 PM
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: Re: Office 2016

Yes, I am using windows 10, Office 2016 and JAWS 18 for work so stuck with these options.

From: main@jfw.groups.io [mailto:main@jfw.groups.io] On Behalf Of Tim Ford
Sent: Wednesday, August 30, 2017 3:54 PM
Subject: Re: Office 2016

Hi Diane,