Re: silencing Jaws during self-voicing programs

Carol Smith

The insert-space with s works great. It does not take much effort to turn speech off and on, provided one knows how to do it, grin. I am enjoying my games between cramming my brain with Jaws commands, LOL!

Carol

On 5/20/2017 10:06 AM, Marquette, Ed wrote:
I'm late to this list. The below suggestion does work fine, but if this self-voicing program is something lots of blind persons use, I'm surprised there is no script for it that turns off speech.
I think such a script could be written pretty easily.
When the program opens, the script file would run automatically. The function would simply be the built-in function {SpeechOff}
Then, to exit the program, one might invent an exit keystroke such as shift+Windows+X. That would turn speech back on and exit the program by, for instance, sending Alt + f
And then
"x", using the built-in TypeKey function.
I'm not a terribly proficient script writer, but I think that may do it.

-----Original Message-----
From: main@jfw.groups.io [mailto:main@jfw.groups.io] On Behalf Of Mario
Sent: Saturday, May 20, 2017 8:59 AM
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: Re: silencing Jaws during self-voicing programs

Carol, JAWSKey(insert)+spacebar then s to turn speech off or on.

-------- Original Message --------
From: Carol Smith via Groups.Io [mailto:carollablady=aol.com@groups.io]
Sent: Friday, May 19, 2017 2:40 PM EST
To: main@jfw.groups.io
Subject: silencing Jaws during self-voicing programs

How do I get Jaws to stop speaking while running programs that have their own speech? For example, Kurzweil has a Jaws built-in way to take care of this. I would like to play my BlindGamers games without having to shut Jaws down completely. Can this be done? Thanks.

Carol

----------------------------------------------------------------------
This E-mail message is confidential, is intended only for the named recipients above and may contain information